Mission Statement

The purpose of the Association shall be to promote the study of instrumental music through band and orchestra programs in the schools of West Tennessee.


The West Tennessee School Band and Orchestra Association (WTSBOA) has been promoting school music since 1939. The organization has continually sponsored numerous events such as Marching Festival, Concert Festival, All-West Clinic Groups, and Solo and Ensemble Festivals. WTSBOA is an affiliate of Tennessee Music Educators Association (TMEA) and The National Association for Music Education (NAfME).

Past Presidents

2014-2016 Chris Piecuch Overton High School
2012-2014 Karen Henning Liberty Technology Magnet High School
2010-2012 David Chipman Bolton High School
2008-2010 Brad Turner Houston Middle School
2006-2008 Barry Trobaugh Munford High School
2004-2006 David Wood Mt. Pisgah Middle School
2002-2004 Tony Burriss Peabody High School
2000-2002 John Easley Union City High School
1998-2000 David Koelz Humboldt High School
1996-1998 Karen Henning Jackson Central Merry
1994-1996 Mike Buchanan Middleton High School
1992-1994 James F. “Pete” Evans Milan High School
1990-1992 Brian Ford Jackson Central Merry/
JSC Music Supervisor

Pre 1990

Jan Warren Northside Junior High
John Gilmer Collierville High School
Barry Lumpkin Harding Academy
Richard Johnson White Station High School
Bill Watson Jackson Central Merry
Mike Krepper Christian Brothers High School
David Ryan Tigrett Junior High School
Glenn Gately Northside High School
Tom Hay Humboldt High School
Jimmy McCaulla Shadowlawn Middle School
Joe Sills Bolivar High School
Bill Bradford Bolivar High School
Larry Volman Overton High School
Ralph Hale Christian Brothers High School